Default Theme
अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान, नई दिल्ली
All India Institute Of Medical Sciences, New Delhi


“Welcome to the Department of Microbiology”

Department of Microbiology was established in year 1957 with Dr. Ghosh Ray, Dr. LN Mohapatra and Dr. Arya as founder members. Vision of the department is to provide up-to-date and holistic theoretical & practical training for MBBS, MD (Microbiology), DM (Infectious Diseases), and PhDs; to carry out frontline research in all disciplines of Microbiology and to train good academicians and teachers in the discipline.

Department of Microbiology is a multidisciplinary unit consisting of Bacteriology, Virology, Mycology, Anaerobic bacteriology, Immunology, HIV laboratory, Parasitology, Ocular Microbiology, Mycobacteriology, Special Bacterial Pathogen Laboratory, Mycoplasma laboratory, STD laboratory and Hospital Infection Control laboratory.

The laboratory facilities include state of the art FACSCalibur for Flow Cytometry System, automated blood culture system (BACTEC), MALDI–TOF (Matrix Assisted Laser Desorption/Ionization – Time of Flight),  automated identification and antimicrobial susceptibility testing system (Vitek-2), Conventional PCR,  Real time PCR, Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) platform (Ion S5 Next Generation Systems) along with the conventional microbiological tools for diagnostic services .

The department offers excellent opportunities for research in infectious diseases. Department has published 607 research articles in the period from 2006-2016.

Contact Us

All India Institute of Medical Sciences

Ansari Nagar, New Delhi - 110029

Board Number : +91-11-26588500 / 26588700

Fax : +91-11-26588663 / 26588641

AIIMS Exam Section Helpline numbers ( Click Here)

Important E-mail Addresses at AIIMS

Top of Page