Default Theme
अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान, नई दिल्ली
All India Institute Of Medical Sciences, New Delhi


The department of Surgical Disciplines has four units which have been designated as: 

  • Division of Endocrine and General Surgery
  •  Division of Organ Transplant and General Surgery
  •  Division of Thoracic, Minimal Access Surgery and General Surgery
  • Division of Minimal Access Surgery and General Surgery.


The department is providing regular services in multiple fields including minimally invasive surgery, renal transplantation, Hepato-biliary and pancreatic surgery, thoracic and thoracoscopic surgery, plastic & reconstructive surgery, endocrine and breast surgery, vascular surgery and cancer surgery.

The department runs a General Surgical OPD every day, a follow-up clinic 4 days a week, Breast Cancer Clinic twice a week and renal transplant clinic once a week.

The department provides emergency care for traumatic and non-traumatic emergencies round the clock.  

The department provides for consultation and care of patients suffering from chronic wounds and patients with chronic venous insufficiency, patients with benign and malignant diseases of the breast.  

There are two levels of trainees in the department  

Junior Residents – 3 year Postgarduate training program leading on to degree of MS Gen Surgery

Senior Residents- 3 year’s Higher Surgical Training after obtaining postgraduate qualification (MS) in General Surgery  

Statistics for 2005-2006

Inpatient Admissions in 2005-2006            6280

Surgical Procedures

Major                                         3395

Minor                                         10374


New cases                                  38406

Old cases                                   26700


Contact us

 Department of Surgical Disciplines

Room No 5025, 5th Floor, Teaching Block,


Ansari Nagar, New Delhi 110029, India

Ph. No. 26593206, Fax. 91-11-26588641,26588663



If you want any change or rectification please Click Here

Contact Us

All India Institute of Medical Sciences

Ansari Nagar, New Delhi - 110029

Board Number : +91-11-26588500 / 26588700

Fax : +91-11-26588663 / 26588641

AIIMS Exam Section Helpline numbers ( Click Here)

Important E-mail Addresses at AIIMS

Top of Page