Dr. Rajeev Kumar


Contact: +91-11-26546609,26594884




Areas of Special Interest: 


·         Microsurgery for male infertility, Andrology

·         Laparoscopy and Robotic surgery

·         Upper tract endourology 


Major Appointments:


1.      Chief Editor: Indian Journal of Urology

2.     Associate Editor: International Journal of Urology

3.     International consulting editor: Journal of Urology

4.     Regional Editor: Journal of Men’s health

5.     Member: Board of Education, Urological Society of India

6.     Co-chair: International Consultation on Urological Diseases: Male infertility and sexual health

7.     Member: International Consultation on Urological Diseases: Minimally invasive nephrectomy

8.     Editorial Working Committee Member, National Medical Journal of India

9.     Co-opt Executive Member, Urological Association of Asia

10.  Convener: Guidelines on Male infertility: Urological Society of India, 2007


Major Publications:

1.   Kumar R, Nehra A. Central nervous system agents and erectile dysfunction. Urol Clin North Am. 2011;38:165-73

2.   Kumar R, Anand A, Saxena V, Seth A, Dogra PN, Gupta NP. Safety and efficacy of PCNL for management of staghorn calculi in pediatric patients. J Pediatr Urol. 2011;7:248-51

3.   Kumar R, Mukherjee S, Gupta NP. Intussusception Vasoepididymostomy with Longitudinal Suture Placement for Idiopathic Obstructive Azoospermia. J Urol. 2010; 183:1489-92

4.   Kumar R, Mukherjee S. 4x4 vasovasostomy: a simplified vasectomy reversal technique. Indian J Urol. 2010;26:350-2

5.   Kumar R, Nehra A, Jacobson DJ, McGree ME, Gades NM, Lieber MM, Jacobsen SJ, Sauver JL. Alpha-Blocker Use Is Associated With Decreased Risk of Sexual Dysfunction. Urology. 2009;74:82-88

6.   Kumar R, Gautam G, Gupta NP. Drug therapy for idiopathic male infertility: rationale versus evidence. J Urol. 2006;176:1307-1312

7.   Kumar R, Gautam G, Gupta NP. Early patency rates following the two-stitch invagination technique of vasoepidiymal anastomosis for idiopathic obstruction. BJU Int. 2006; 97:575-577

8.   Kumar R, Nayyar R, Kumar V, Gupta NP, Hemal AK, Jagannathan NR, Dattagupta S, Thulkar S. Potential of Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopic Imaging in Predicting Absence of Prostate Cancer in Men with Serum Prostate-Specific Antigen Between 4 and 10ng/mL: A Follow-up Study. Urology 2008;72:859-863

9.   Kumar R, Kumar M, Jagannathan NR, Hemal AK, Gupta NP. Proton Magnetic Resonance spectroscopy using a body coil in the diagnosis of carcinoma prostate. Urol Research. 2004;32:36-40

10. Kumar R. Surgery for azoospermia in the Indian patient: why is it different? Indian J Urol. 2011;27:98-101

11. Kumar R, Gautam G, Gupta NP, Aron M, Dada R, Kucheria K et al. Role of testicular fine-needle aspiration cytology in infertile men with clinically obstructive azoospermia. Nat Med J Ind. 2006;19: 18-19

12. Kumar R, Thulkar S, Kumar V, Jagannathan NR, Gupta NP. Contribution of investigations to the diagnosis of congenital vas aplasia. ANZ J Surg. 2005;75:807-809

13. Kumar R, Gupta NP. Subinguinal microsurgical varicocelectomy: evaluation of results. Urol Int.  2003; 71:361-367

14. Kumar R, Dada R, Gupta NP, Kucheria K. Serum FSH levels and testicular histology in infertile men with non obstructive azoospermia and Y chromosome microdeletions. Indian J Urol. 2006;22:332-6


Major Awards:

  1. Urology Gold Medal for Best Post Graduate, AIIMS, 2001

  2. Institute Medal for Best Graduate, AIIMS, 1994

  3. Institute Prize for Best Graduate in Surgery, AIIMS, 1994

  4. Institute Prize for Best Graduate in Medicine, AIIMS, 1994

  5. Institute Prize for Best Graduate in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, AIIMS, 1994

  6. Institute Prize for Best Graduate in Pharmacology, AIIMS, 1991

  7. Institute Prize for Best Graduate in Physiology and Biochemistry, AIIMS, 1990

  8. New Zealand High Commissioner’s Prize, AIIMS, 1994

  9. UAA Lecturer at the American Urological Association, 2012

  10. International Guest Scholarship, American College of Surgeons, 2011

  11. Outstanding Young Urologist, Urological Association of Asia, 2010

  12. DUSCON Award and Gold Medal for contributions to Basic Research in Urology, 2010

  13. Chakroborty Fellowship: Visiting Clinician, Mayo Clinic, USA, 2007

  14. MIUC Fellowship, Urological Society of India, 2007

  15. ICRETT Fellowship, UICC, Geneva: ‘Prosthesis implant surgery’, Mayo Clinic, USA, 2006

  16. CKP Menon Prize for Best Paper, Urological Society of India, 2003

  17. Institute Merit Scholarship, AIIMS, 1990-1994